Announcements

Summer Saturdays

Summer Saturday hours, 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM, June - August.

Juneteenth

The Farmington Libraries will be closed Wednesday, June 19 in observance of the Juneteenth holiday.

Recommended Reading from the Children's Department!

Check out these great recommended titles for kids. Want more? Subscribe to our Children's Programs email newsletter and get recommendations right in your inbox!

Picture Books

So Much Snow

by: Kristen Schroeder 

A beautifully illustrated, rollicking read-aloud about forest animals who are caught--literally up to their ears and antlers--in a snowstorm.

Try A Little Kindness

by: Henry Cole  

A great book for showing children all the different ways they can be kind. The pictures are funny and engaging, too -- a win- win!

Bridge Books

Good Dog

by: Cam Higgins

In this young chapter book series, one very good boy learns how to be the best farm dog he can be.

Fiction Books

Hither & Nigh

by: Ellen Potter      

A young girl and her friends discover a secret, parallel New York City that may help them find the girl's missing brother in this middle grade fantasy adventure book.  An exciting mix of mystery and magic!

How to Catch a Polar Bear

by: Stacy DeKeyser     

It's 1948 and twelve-year-old Nick’s summer gets way more exciting when a polar bear escapes from the local zoo—perfect for fans of Stuart Gibbs and The One and Only Ivan.

Graphic Novels

Bad Sister

by: Charise Mericle Harper  

A graphic memoir of sibling rivalry and collaboration that  follows a young girl who undergoes a crisis of conscience, realizing that she is a “bad sister.” Harper makes it clear that Charise and Daniel have an unbreakable bond, despite the sibling drama.

Nonfiction

The Highlights Book of Things to Do

by: Highlights  

Create, make, discover, play, experiment, invent, laugh, think, share.  This book is all about feeding your curiosity and discovering what you love to do.